Home Best of Cricket Top 3 run scorers in the history of the IPL

Top 3 run scorers in the history of the IPL


Cricket fans are waiting with more excitement than ever as the IPL 2019 is around the corner. The journey of IPL has been sensational for years as many world-class batsmen have graces the game with their presence over the years. From Sachin Tendulkar to Ricky Ponting and from Sanath Jayasuriya to Stephen Fleming, everyone has played a good role for their respective fields

Apart from such legendary batsmen, there have been a few players who have taken the spotlight in garnering all the appreciation and acclaim. Here, we take a look back at the last 10 years to find out the top three batsmen who have been scoring runs most consistently in the IPL.

1. Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina is one of the best batsmen of his era and probably the most underrated one in the Indian cricket team. He was a prominent part of the Indian team under MS Dhoni. Raina has been the best batsmen in the IPL of the last decade. He is a paragon of fearless and attacking cricket that is vital in modern day cricket.

Suresh Raina
Chennai super King
IPL 2019
Suresh Raina

Raina has made it a habit of scoring more than 400 runs in nearly every season of the IPL that he has played. He has been the permanent player of Chennai Super Kings from the beginning of the IPL, though he played for Gujarat Lions for two seasons when CSK was banned from the IPL.

Raina is at the top of the chart with 4,985 IPL runs at a strike rate of 138.47. He is a good striker and has exceptional fielding qualities, which makes him a valuable asset for any T20 team.

2. Virat Kohli

Undoubtedly, Virat Kohli has been a star since his U19 days to when he led the Indian team to World Cup glory. He has proved himself in all three formats in the international arena.

Virat Kohli Virat kohli age
Bangalore team
royal challengers
Virat Kohli

Kohli became the only player to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year 2018, the ICC ODI Player of the Year and the
ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year in the same year. Virat Kohli is a gifted batsman and makes batting look effortlessly easy.

He has been the Royal Challenger since the first season of IPL. He has scored 4,948 runs in the IPL with an average of 38.35 in 155 innings.

3. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has come out to become the great batsmen that limited overs cricket has ever seen. He has a very successful journey in IPL as he has four IPL titles. After winning the trophy in the second year with Deccan Chargers, the batsmen went back to Mumbai Indians in 2011.

He has often batted at number four for Mumbai Indians, to give more opportunities to the youngsters in the team. Rohit Sharma has scored 4493 runs so far in the IPL throughout all seasons, for both Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians.

Rohit sharma
Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indian team
Rohit sharam


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here